President Rodrigo Roa Duterte has approved the promotion of eight Commodores of the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), based on the recommendation of Department of Transportation - Philippines (DOTr) Secretary Arthur P. Tugade.

In the transmittal papers sent by the Office of the President to the Office of the Transportation Secretary on 15 February 2021, the Chief Executive gave his go signal for the promotion of:

1 Commodore Luisito S Sibayan Commander, Coast Guard District Southeastern Mindanao
2 Commodore Roben N De Guzman Director, National Operations Center for Oil Pollution
3 Commodore Inocencio C Rosario Jr Commander, Coast Guard District North Eastern Mindanao
4 Commodore Agapito B Bibat Commander, Coast Guard District Northern Mindanao
5 Commodore Allen J Dalangin Deputy Chief of Coast Guard Staff for Intelligence
6 Commodore Ferdinan B Picar Deputy Chief of Coast Guard Staff for Operations
7 Commodore Luz L Escarilla Commander, Coast Guard Civil Relations Service
8 Commodore Fran T Eden Commander, Coast Guard Medical Service

The abovementioned Coast Guard Commodores are scheduled to take oath to DOTr Secretary Tugade at the National Headquarters, Port Area, Manila today, 26 February 2021. Their arrival honors and breaking of personal flags ceremonies will ensue thereafter.

PCG Commandant, Admiral George V Ursabia Jr urges the newly-promoted officials to shepherd their subordinates to deliver public service with humility and compassion through the manifestation of the ideals of genuine PCG – patriotism, compassion, and fear of God.

The Coast Guard Commandant also expressed his sincere gratitude to President Duterte and DOTr Secretary Tugade for supporting the promotion of Coast Guard key officials, as well as their full trust and confidence in the initiatives and future plans of the humanitarian armed service.