The Coast Guard District Southern Tagalog (CGDSTL) headed by its Acting Commander, Commodore Artemio M Abu celebrated its 36th Founding Anniversary with Admiral Elson E Hermogino, Philippine Coast Guard Commandant and the 29th Senate President of the Philippines, Senator Vicente “Tito”Castelo Sotto III as the guest of honor and speaker at Batangas City Convention Center on Tuesday, March 12.

Several awards were given to CGDSTL personnel for the untiring effort and outstanding contribution to the Coast Guard service. The awardees are PO2 Allan BandongPCG as CGDSTL Non-Officer of the Year; Lighthouse Keeper 1 Aaron D Calusin as Lighthouse Keeper of the Year; 502nd Auxiliary Squadron as Coast Guard District Auxiliary Southern Tagalog of the Year handed-over to the 502nd Auxiliary Squadron Director, Captain Joseph Bautista PCGA; Coast Guard Station Oriental Mindoro as Coast Guard Station Class “Bravo” of the Year; Coast Guard Station Romblon as Coast Guard Station Class “Charlie” of the Year; and Coast Guard Sub-Station San Jose as Coast Guard Sub-Station of the year.

As part of the district’s anniversary are their pre-activities including the blessing of their new vehicles; sports fest; medical, dental, and optical mission; mangrove planting and coastal clean-up; golf tournament; and simulation exercise on Maritime Security and Law Enforcement at Sea.